Yalobusha Review is a journal of new writing, founded in 1995 and operated by the graduate writing program at the University of Mississippi. We seek to showcase work that alters or subverts mainstream forms of expression–work that is, in a broad sense, experimental, though that takes many forms. We believe the reading experience should be a kinetic one, and to that end, we favor art that has its own source of energy, drawn from tonal individuality, linguistic texture, and above all, a sense of exploration.




Yalobusha Review is thrilled to announce the winner, runners-up, and finalists of the 2017 Barry Hannah Prize in Fiction! We received hundreds of amazing submissions this year and we are so grateful to everyone who submitted. Our theme this year was fairytale, folklore, and myths. Each of the finalists we selected approached this theme in a different way, and each offered something new and compelling to these methods of storytelling.

Please keep an eye out for the winning story and others in our upcoming Fall issue, to be released online in late December/early January.



Our judge, Catherine Lacey, chose “Junkland.” by K.A. Rees as the winning submission. Of “Junkland.,” Lacey writes: Junkland. is a piercing meditation on wreckage and ruin of all sorts— human wastefulness, bodily injury, the oppressive weight of memory. Yet its language is nimble, agile, unexpected. At the heart of this story there is a deep, alluring tension— heavy and ebullient, clear and mysterious, tender and sharp.”  



“Now You’ll Have Something to Cry About” by C.G. Thompson

“Toy Whistle” by Cezarija Abartis



“In Floating Fields” by Susan DeFreitas

“Lullaby (Dark Night)” by Jeanne Genis

“Time and Oranges” by Molly Gutman

“Ladies’ Night at the Arctic Club” by Thomas Israel Hopkins

“The Laughing Owl” by Kaely Horton

“Meat Shack” by Kate Jayroe

“Holy Ground” by Joshua Storrs


Congratulations, all! We truly enjoyed reading your work!




Yalobusha Review is thrilled to announce the revival of the Barry Hannah Prize in Fiction.


Beloved teacher and former director of the University of Mississippi MFA program, Barry Hannah was born in Meridian, Mississippi. He joined the UM faculty in 1982, and served as MFA director from 2001 until his death in 2010. Author of many works, including National Book Award finalist Geronimo Rex, the critically acclaimed collection Airships, and Pulitzer Prize finalist High Lonesome, Hannah received numerous awards during his career including The William Faulkner Prize and the Robert Penn Warren Lifetime Achievement Award. Known for his sharp use of language and electric energy, Hannah’s writing blends traditional genre conventions and pushes the limits of the Southern literary tradition.


Named in memoriam, the Barry Hannah Prize in Fiction celebrates writing that captures the strange, surreal, absurd, and magical. It is in this spirit that we announce a theme for this contest. We are looking for stories that align themselves with fairy tales, folk tales, and mythology. Stories may approach this theme broadly or narrowly, thematically, formally, or both. Stories may be based on magical realism, literary realism, and anything in between. We are most interested in stories that reconfigure the old into something new.


Catherine Lacey, author of Nobody is Ever Missing and The Answers, will serve as the final judge for this contest. Lacey has won a Whiting Award, was a finalist for the NYPL’s Young Lions Fiction Award, and named one of Granta Magazine’s Best Young American Novelists. She is the 2017-2018 Grisham Writer in Residence at the University of Mississippi. For more information on Catherine Lacey, please visit https://www.catherinelacey.com/





Andrew Dally & Elsa Nekola • Senior Editors

Jan Verberkmoes • Senior Co-Editor

Eric Delp • Managing Editor

Sarah Sgro • Poetry Editor

Sarah Huddleston • Fiction Editor

Kristin Teston • Media Coordinator

Readers •  Lara Avery, Reggie Fontenot, Sarah Heying, Bailey Moorhead, Hooper Schultz, Laura Wilson, Peter Wong, Regina Young


Site designed by Eric Andrew Lewis.


Featured Artist
YR:25 artwork courtesy of Susan Fang.


Susan was born in Taipei, Taiwan, in 1985, and raised in Atlanta, Georgia. She received her Masters of Fine Arts from the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, and has been a recipient of the Charles Addams Memorial Prize and an Andy Warhol Foundation grant. She currently lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.



Submissions are currently OPEN  in all genres for YR: 26 (Web, Winter 2017) and YR: 27 (Web, Spring 2018). Work may be accepted for either issue.


We consider online submissions only.  

Please read our General Submission Guidelines below before you submit.


General Guidelines:

There are no restrictions on what type of writing you should submit.  All submissions should include a cover letter (the shorter the better) with titles of submissions, a brief, press-ready biographical statement, and any relevant contact information. Your name and contact info should be printed on every page of your submission.  YR does not accept previously published pieces. Simultaneous submissions are not only permitted but expected; please notify us immediately, though, if a piece is chosen for publication elsewhere. Response time can take up to 5 or 6 months, but is often much shorter. Please do not submit additional work until a decision has been made regarding your current submission. All rights revert to authors upon publication.


Poetry Guidelines:  3-5 poems


Fiction Guidelines: 1 short story of traditional length (up to 5,000 words), or up to 3 pieces of shorter fiction (less than 1,000 words each).


To submit your work, please click here.


For any questions or concerns, contact us on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, or email us at yreditors@gmail.com.